The timeout right before the snap of the Bills 53-yard game winner in overtime, forced Rian Lindell to take a second attempt and we all know what happened (hit the upright). The question is what should be done with the coach’s ability to try to mess with the kicker?
Bills WR Steve Johnson was asked if he thought the rule is “cheesy” (I didn’t ask the question). Here was Stevie’s response.
“I can’t say it is because both teams are allowed to do it,” said Johnson. ”I can’t say we should wipe that rule out. If it was biased toward any one team than yeah, but both teams can do it and we did it to them and he ended up making his in the end. It’s fair for both teams.”
Johnson is right, Chan Gailey employed the same strategy against Chiefs kicker Ryan Succop, and it can be argued whether it worked or not as Succop pulled a 39-yard attempt wide left.
Personally I’m not a fan of the timeout to ice the kicker. Even Gailey said it’s just a mind game you’re playing. I’d like to think the league is bigger than those kinds of tactics.
Tags: Chan Gailey, Rian Lindell, Steve Johnson
Posted in Inside the Bills