Inside The Bills

Head of officiating explains inadvertent whistle

Posted by Chris Brown on November 24, 2015 – 1:09 am

The NFL head of officiating Dean Blandino provided an explanation for the officiating crew’s inadvertent whistle in the Bills-Patriots game Monday night.

Here was his explanation.

 

On the inadvertent whistle:

“The line judge lost track of the football and he blew his whistle inadvertently. That’s a mistake and we shouldn’t have blown the whistle. So by rule they are going to look as to where was the football when the whistle was blown and they determined that Amendola had the football when the whistle was blown. So then the team with possession gets an option: they can either take the ball at that spot or they can replay the down. So New England decided to take the ball at the spot which was more beneficial to them. And then there was a penalty on the play called against coach Ryan so that penalty by rule is also enforced from the spot where the whistle blew. So that’s how they came to that decision.”

On if he was confused as to why the whistle was blown:

“Sure. You’re always wondering when – again just by definition an inadvertent whistle is a whistle that shouldn’t have been blown – so you’re wondering why. It has happened before. This isn’t the first time an official loses track of where the football is and thinks that the play is over and blows his whistle. We do want our officials to blow their whistle when the play is over. So you’re wondering why that happened. But then once it did happen, the crew I thought did a good job of handling where they were going to put the football because again both teams are affected by the whistle blowing. Both teams stop and so we can’t assume what would have happened. So we gave the ball to the Patriots at the spot of the catch and then enforced the penalty from there.”

 


Tags: ,
Posted in Inside the Bills