Inside The Bills

Schobel still not going to Pro Bowl

Posted by Chris Brown on January 25, 2010 – 10:24 am

Even though a total of 14 more players, including seven for the AFC are being added to the Pro Bowl rosters, to replace the Colts and Saints players that are exempt because they’ll be playing in the Super Bowl, Aaron Schobel is still not going as a defensive end.

Both of Indianapolis’ defensive ends, Robert Mathis and Dwight Freeney made the Pro Bowl, but cannot participate since they’ll be playing in the Super Bowl the following week. Aaron Schobel, however, was apparently not voted as an alternate as going in place of the two Colts’ pass rushers are the Jets Shaun Ellis and Tennessee’s Kyle Vanden Bosch.

What hurt Schobel’s chances was the fact that he had his three sack game against the Falcons in Week 16 that got him to 10 for the season, happened after the voting by coaches and players had already been completed. Kyle Williams was a third alternate for the AFC, but there were no defensive tackles that had to be replaced. The situation was the same for Brian Moorman a first alternate as there was no need to replace Oakland punter Shane Lechler.

Here’s the list of alternate Pro Bowl players filling in for Super Bowl participants. Congratulations to former Bills LB London Fletcher, who will be appearing in his first Pro Bowl.

Added to the AFC Pro Bowl roster are:

QB David Garrard, Jacksonville (replacing Peyton Manning)
WR Vincent Jackson, San Diego (replacing Reggie Wayne)
TE Heath Miller, Pittsburgh (replacing Dallas Clark)
C Kevin Mawae, Tennessee (replaces Jeff Saturday)
DE Kyle Vanden Bosch, Tennessee (replacing Dwight Freeney)
DE Shaun Ellis, N.Y. Jets (replacing Robert Mathis)
S Yeremiah Bell, Miami (replacing Antoine Bethea)

Added to the NFC Pro Bowl roster are:

QB Donovan McNabb, Philadelphia (replacing Drew Brees)
OT David Diehl, N.Y. Giants (replacing Jon Stinchcomb)
OG Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants (replacing Jahri Evans)
C Ryan Kalil, Carolina (replacing Jonathan Goodwin)
LB London Fletcher, Washington (replacing Jonathan Vilma)
FS Antrel Rolle, Arizona (replacing Darren Sharper)
SS Quintin Mikell, Philadelphia (replacing Roman Harper)

Tags: , , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills
%d bloggers like this: