Inside The Bills

Jim Kelly wins award

Posted by Chris Brown on November 30, 2011 – 3:57 pm

The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced Jim Kelly as the recipient of the 2011 Davey O’Brien Legends Award, in honor of his outstanding contributions to the game of football both on and off the field Wednesday. Kelly will be presented with the award at the 35th Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 20, 2012 at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

“I’m very humbled to receive the Legends Award,” said Kelly. “It’s an honor to be included among some of the greatest quarterbacks to ever play the game.”

Established in 2001 to commemorate the 25th anniversary of the Davey O’Brien Foundation, the Legends Award recognizes a college or professional quarterback who has made a significant contribution to the game of football, distinguished himself as an extraordinary leader and demonstrated exemplary conduct on and off the football field. Past recipients include Bob Griese (2010), Dan Fouts (2009), Joe Theismann (2008), Steve Spurrier (2007), Paul Hornung (2006), Len Dawson (2005), Archie Manning (2004), Terry Bradshaw (2003), Bart Starr (2002) and Roger Staubach (2001).  

“We’re honored to add Jim Kelly to our esteemed group of Legends Award recipients,” said Scott Murray, Chair of the Legends Committee for the Davey O’Brien Foundation. “Not only is he a Pro Football Hall of Fame quarterback, but he’s proven to be a committed leader off the field as well. His leadership and dedication to the game of football make him an ideal addition to the Davey O’Brien family.”

Posted in Inside the Bills
%d bloggers like this: