Inside The Bills

Former Bills LB to be inducted into BCFHOF

Posted by Chris Brown on October 26, 2016 – 9:53 am

The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced its Class of 2017. Six inductees were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee, and a former Bills linebacker is among those to be enshrined.

The Class of 2017 includes LB Isiah “Butch” Robertson (Southern).

A former first-round pick of the Los Angeles Rams, Robertson played the last four years of his career with the Bills from 1979-1982, helping Buffalo reach the playoffs in 1980 and 1981 under head coach Chuck Knox.

“This class is another representation of the immense football talent that has played at historically black colleges and universities,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder, former Bills QB and 2012 Inductee James “Shack” Harris. “All five players were college All-Americans, and three were first round NFL draft picks.”

The Class of 2017 also includes Parnell “Paydirt” Dickinson (Mississippi Valley State), Harold “Sunny” Jackson (Jackson State), Gary “Big Hands” Johnson (Grambling State), Robert Porcher (South Carolina State, Tennessee State) and Coach Billy Joe (Cheyney, Central State, Florida A&M, Miles College).

Joe was the running back who came back to the Bills in the infamous trade of Cookie Gilchrist with the Denver Broncos in 1965. Joe only played for the Bills for one season, but was on the 1965 AFL title team.

The Class will be honored at the Eighth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, presented by the Atlanta Falcons on February 25, 2017.

Tags: ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Several Bills on prelim HOF list

Posted by Chris Brown on September 13, 2010 – 8:22 am

A number of former Bills players are on the preliminary Pro Football Hall of Fame nominee list for the class of 2011.

Here is the rundown of former players among the 113 that were nominated.

Cornelius Bennett
Kent Hull
Andre Reed
Darryl Talley
Steve Tasker

Former head coach Chuck Knox is also on the list.

The Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees. The list of 25 modern-era semifinalists will be announced in mid-November. Reed was the only nominee from this list to make the finalist list in 2010.

Tags: , , , , , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Fan can now lobby for HOF candidates

Posted by Chris Brown on September 20, 2009 – 5:51 pm

For the first time, the Pro Football Hall of Fame is asking fans to voice their choice for who they think should be inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2010 with a dedicated fan forum.

At the Fans Choice Forum you can argue for the candidacy of Bills Wall of Famer Steve Tasker or three-time finalist Andre Reed. Kent Hull, Cornelius Bennett, Darryl Talley, Fred Smerlas, Chris Spielman and former head coach Chuck Knox current join Reed and Tasker on the Hall’s preliminary 2010 induction list.

The Hall wants to know what fans are thinking and it’s time for fans to speak up and be heard by casting their ballot! Almost 10,000 fans have already cast their ballot in the first 24 hours! 

Andre Reed is currently ranked #9 while Tasker is at #17, so get behind your guy and vote!

Top 10 fan’s choice as of this morning:
1. Jerry Rice
2. Emmitt Smith
3. Cris Carter
4. Shannon Sharpe
5. Charles Haley
6. Ray Guy
7. Richard Dent
8. Tim Brown
9. Andre Reed
10. Phil Simms

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Several 90’s Bills, Ralph Wilson on prelim HOF list for 2009

Posted by Chris Brown on October 28, 2008 – 8:59 pm

Bills recent Wall of Fame inductee Bruce Smith, Kent Hull, Andre Reed, Darryl Talley, Cornelius Bennett and Steve Tasker make up the list of AFC Champion 90’s Bills that are are on the preliminary list of modern-era nominees for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2009. 

Also on the list is Bills founder and owner Ralph Wilson as a contributor nominee.

Other former Bills players on the list are Fred Smerlas and those who spent parts of their career with the Bills like Larry Centers and Chris Spielman.

Former Bills head coach Chuck Knox is also a preliminary nominee.

Bruce Smith is a shoe-in as a first ballot nominee being the league’s all time leader in sacks and a four-time AFC Champion and a countless number of Pro Bowls and All-Pro teams. Reed made the list of finalists last year. We’ll see if he can make it in this time. Tasker will get consideration too.

Mr. Wilson stands a good chance I believe as more of the committee I understand is coming around to understand the magnitude of his contributions to the game.

From this preliminary list of modern-era nominees, Hall of Fame selectors will choose 25 candidates who will advance as semifinalist nominees.  The list of 25 modern-era semifinalists will be announced later next month. The 25 modern-era semifinalists list will be reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists. 

The final list of nominees that will be considered for election will consist of the 15 modern-era finalists and the two previously announced senior nominees, Bob Hayes and Claude Humphrey.  Hayes and Humphrey were selected this past August by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee. 

The Class of 2009 will be selected from the list of 17 finalists (15 modern-era and two senior nominees).  The actual voting will be conducted at the Hall of Fame Selection Committee’s annual meeting, which will be held on Saturday, January 31, 2009, in Tampa, Florida the day before Super Bowl XLIII.  The election results will be announced immediately after the meeting at a press conference in the media headquarters.  While there is no set number for any class of enshrinees, the ground rules provide that between four and seven new members will be selected. 

The preliminary list includes 110 players, seven coaches and 16 contributors, including former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue and longtime team owners Bud Adams, Jerry Jones, Art Modell and Ralph Wilson.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills
%d bloggers like this: