Inside The Bills

Full breakdown of re-vote

Posted by Chris Brown on May 13, 2010 – 8:50 am

Here’s the full breakdown of  the re-vote for NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Looking at the re-vote breakdown provided by the Associated Press (see below) I was surprised at how many voters changed their vote where Brian Cushing was not part of the equation.

The Washington DC writer changed from Byrd to Orakpo (home team call there).

The real head scratcher was the Pittsburgh beat writer who changed from Byrd to Cushing. What the heck is that?

Of those that voted for Cushing, nine changed their vote to Byrd, with eight changing their vote to Clay Matthews.

There were also a few abstentions.

    Don Banks, Sports
    Bob Berger, Sporting News Radio
    Chris Berman, ESPN
    Steve Cohen, Sirius Satellite Radio
    Frank Cooney, SportsXChange
    Mark Craig, Minneapolis Star Tribune
    Tom Curran, Comcast Sportsnet
    Vinny Ditrani, The Record
    Rick Gosselin, Dallas Morning News
    Paul Gutierrez, Sacramento Bee
    Clark Judge,
    John McClain, Houston Chronicle
    Gary Myers, New York Daily News
    Danny O’Neil, Seattle Times
    Pete Prisco,
    Adam Teicher, Kansas City Star
    Charean Williams Fort Worth Star-Telegram
    Brian Allee-Walsh, New
    Paul Domowitch, Philadelphia Daily News
    Ashley Fox, Philadelphia Inquirer
    Armando Salguero, Miami Herald
    Jim Corbett, USA Today
    Tony Grossi, Cleveland Plain Dealer
    Kent Somers, Arizona Republic
    Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Jairus Byrd)
    Jarrett Bell, USA Today (Jairus Byrd)
    Clifton Brown, The Sporting News (Jairus Byrd)
    Rich Cimini, New York Daily News (Clay Matthews)
    John Clayton, ESPN The Magazine (Clay Matthews)
    Bob Costas, HBO/NBC Sports (Clay Matthews)
    John Czarnecki, Fox Sports (Brian Orakpo(notes))
    Boomer Esiason, CBS/Westwood One (Jairus Byrd)
    Mark Gaughan, Buffalo News (Jairus Byrd)
    Nancy Gay, AOL Fanhouse (Jairus Byrd)
    Bob Glauber, Newsday (Jairus Byrd)
    Dave Goldberg, AOL Fanhouse (Clay Matthews)
    Ira Kaufman, Tampa Tribune (Jairus Byrd)
    Peter King, Sports Illustrated (Clay Matthews)
    Matt Maiocco, Santa Rosa Press Democrat (Clay Matthews)
    Alex Marvez, (Jairus Byrd)
    Pat McManamon, Akron Beacon Journal (Jairus Byrd)
    Dan Pompei, Chicago Tribune (Clay Matthews)
    Adam Schein, Sirius NFL Radio (Brian Orakpo)
    Frank Schwab, Colorado Springs Gazette (Clay Matthews)
    Howie Long, Fox Sports
    Chris Mortensen, ESPN
    Tom Silverstein, Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel
    Note: All had Cushing in the original balloting.
    Ed Bouchette, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Brian Cushing)
    David Elfin, Washington Times (Brian Orakpo)
    Howard Balzer, Fox Sports Net (James Laurinaitis(notes))
    Len Shapiro, Miami Herald (Clay Matthews)

Tags: , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills’s Banks to vote for Cushing again

Posted by Chris Brown on May 11, 2010 – 1:27 pm columnist Don Banks believes a re-vote for Defensive Rookie of the Year is wrong and is voting for Cushing again.

Banks makes a fair point in saying that the league’s appeal process for players is flawed because if he was caught in September his appeal should not have lasted through the end of the regular season.

He said a more timely resolution would’ve led to a four game suspension at the end of the 2009 season and likely would’ve damaged his chances of winning the award in the first place because his stats would’ve been negatively impacted.

What do you think?

Tags: ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Deadline Wed. for Def. ROY re-vote

Posted by Chris Brown on May 11, 2010 – 8:46 am

The deadline for sports writers with a vote for the AP Defensive Rookie of the Year re-vote is coming up fast.

After the decision was made Monday to re-vote for Defensive Rookie of the Year by the Associated Press in the wake of Houston LB Brian Cushing’s admission that he did test positive for a banned substance, they informed their voters that they have until 11 am Wednesday to submit their ballot.

Brian Cushing is again eligible as a candidate. Bills FS Jairus Byrd placed second in the original voting with 6 votes to Cushing’s 39. Green Bay LB Clay Matthews had 3 votes and Washington’s Brian Orakpo had 2.

Tags: , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Re-vote for Def. ROY

Posted by Chris Brown on May 10, 2010 – 4:59 pm

The Associated Press has decided to re-vote for Defensive Rookie of the Year for the 2009 season.

After winner Brian Cushing tested positive for a banned substance and was subsequently suspended four games by the NFL last week, the AP decided to re-vote.

Cushing is still a candidate.

Bills FS Jairus Byrd finished second in the original vote receiving six votes with Clay Matthews receiving three and Brian Orakpo two votes.

The AP will also re-vote for All-Pro outside linebacker, where Cushing initially received five votes and was named to the second team. Cushing is still among the nominees in the re-vote for that as well.

Tags: ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

King lobbies for Byrd

Posted by Chris Brown on May 10, 2010 – 10:47 am

With 2009 NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Brian Cushing earning a four-game suspension by the league for the 2010 season after testing positive for banned substances,’s Peter King is lobbying for Cushing to be stripped of the award.

Bills FS Jairus Byrd finished second in the voting to Cushing, and King believes Byrd should be given the award instead.

King wrote in his Monday Morning QB column

…Cushing admitting that he appealed the positive test in February makes it virtually certain that he derived benefit from whatever illegal substance he took during his rookie season. And if this suspension is the result of a positive test at any point during the 2009 season, I’m in favor of stripping him of the defensive rookie of the year award and giving it to second-place finisher Jairus Byrd of Buffalo…
It’s an action that makes sense knowing Cushing’s performance his rookie year is tainted. It would seem only fair to give the award to a player that performed fairly under the rules like Byrd.
The NFL however, has no jurisdiction on the award since the end of the year awards are handled by the Associated Press. I’m trying to find out if an award like this has ever been stripped from a player before.

Tags: , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills
%d bloggers like this: