Inside The Bills

Bills ties to 2016 College Football HOF ballot

Posted by Chris Brown on June 2, 2015 – 1:10 pm

There are a few accomplished former football players with ties to the Bills, whose collegiate careers have landed them on the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame ballot.

Former Bills WR Marlin Briscoe, former RB Kenny Davis and current defensive coordinator Dennis Thurman are all on the 2016 ballot.

Briscoe a former NAIA QB at Nebraska-Omaha was a 1967 First Team NAIA All-American who ranks third all-time at UNO with 5,114 passing yards…Set 22 offensive records by career’s end… Three-time All-CIC selection.

Davis was a 1984 unanimous First Team All-American who finished fifth in Heisman Trophy voting…Led the nation in yards per carry (7.6) at TCU and ranked second nationally in rushing yards (1,611) in 1984…1984 Southwest Conference Offensive Player of the Year who boasted nine 100-yard games in career.

Buffalo’s defensive coordinator Dennis Thurman was a two-time First Team All-American who led the USC Trojans to four consecutive postseason wins, including the 1974 National Championship at the Rose Bowl…Two-time all-conference selection who helped USC to two Pac-10 titles.

The announcement of the 2016 Class will be made Friday, Jan. 8, 2016.

Tags: , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Frank Reich’s Call to Courage awards next Sat

Posted by Chris Brown on March 29, 2013 – 2:30 pm

Former Bills QB Frank Reich’s Athletes in Action will host the 12th Annual Call to Courage Award Breakfast this Saturday (April 6th) at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Buffalo with a special look back at the “Greatest Comeback in NFL History.”

The high profile breakfast will be held from 9-11 am and Reich will present the 2013 Call to Courage Award to Indianapolis Colts All Pro Center Jeff Saturday. He was named to six Pro Bowls and named First Team All Pro twice in 2005 and 2007.

A special highlight of the program will be the 20th Anniversary celebration of the “Greatest Comeback in NFL History”. Joining Reich for a look back video highlight panel discussion will be former Buffalo Bills greats Andre Reed, Kenneth Davis and Steve Tasker. will cover the event.

The honorary chairman for this year’s breakfast will be Buffalo Bills kicker Rian Lindell.

In addition to the NFL winner of the Call to Courage Award, the High School Call to Courage Award will also be given to an outstanding member of a Western New York high school football team. Buffalo Bills play –by-play man, John Murphy is this year’s MC.

A commemorative Limited Edition 20th Anniversary – Greatest Comeback poster will also be made available, exclusively for those in attendance at the breakfast.

GreatestComebackPoster_20th Anniversary (4)

The Call to Courage Award Breakfast is open to the public. Tickets are $40 each and a table of ten is $350. For ticket information call 716-559-1800 or find them on Facebook at aiabuffalo.

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Inside the Bills

Former Bills RB makes Texas HS HOF

Posted by Chris Brown on January 20, 2009 – 2:26 pm

Former Bills RB Kenny Davis, who is now an athletic director at a Catholic HS in Texas is being inducted into the Texas High School Hall of Fame.

Davis cites Marv Levy as one of the most influential people in his playing career.

Posted in Inside the Bills
%d bloggers like this: